20 High Court Judges sworn-in at State House, Nairobi.

The 20 Judges appointed by President William Ruto to serve at the High Court following the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) have taken oath of office.

The newly appointed Judges were sworn-in early Wednesday at a function presided over by President Ruto at State House, Nairobi.

Also present was Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu who represented Chief Justice Martha Koome alongside other senior government and judiciary officers.

Speaking after witnessing them take oath of office, President Ruto called on the Judges to always be impartial and endeavor to live to their oath of office.

“As you write those judgments, and as you consider every issue brought before you, and some of them will be very difficult, remember you swore before the Almighty God to serve Kenyans diligently,” President Ruto reminded Judges of their oath.

The Head of State equally called on the Judges to not only administer but also defend the constitution noting that it is the basis upon which the country is established.

“We want the judiciary dignified, we want the judiciary respected, and we want the judiciary that promotes fairness,” President Ruto said.

JSC submitted the names of the 20 Judges to the Head of State last Thursday after lengthy deliberations and careful consideration of their performance upon the conclusion of their interviews on December 1, 2022.

Their recommendation was also based on the constitutional imperative of merit, gender, regional balance, and affirmative action, based on the constitutional imperative of merit, gender, regional balance, and affirmative action.

Here is the list of the Judges appointed by the President through Gazette Notice No.  15193:

The newly appointed High Court Judges are:

1. Gichohi Patricia Njeri 

2. Mongare Josephine Wayua Wambua 

3. Nyaundi Patricia Mande, SC 

4. Kavedza Diana Rachel 

5. Chirchir Sophie Chebet 

6. Sifuna Nixon Wanyama  (Prof.) 

7. Shariff Mwanaisha Saida 

8. Nyaga Heston Mbogo 

9. Chigiti John Mugwimi 

10. Mulwa Peter Mutua 

11. Nthiga Lawrence Mugambi 

12. Mutai  Gregory 

13. Wananda John Robert Anuro 

14. Mohochi Samwel Mukira 

15. Olel Francis Rayola Ochieng Odhiambo 

16. Githiru Freda Mugambi (Dr.) 

17. Magare Dennis Kizito Ng’wono 

18. Macharia Florence Wangari 

19. Odera Teresa Achieng 

20. Visram Aleem Alnashir

Recommended Articles

Radio Services