Appellate Judge Aggrey Muchelule will head the tribunal.

Nine members of the tribunal appointed by President William Ruto to probe the conduct of the four suspended IEBC commissioners have been sworn-in.

The members of the tribunal to be led by Court of Appeal Judge Aggrey Otysula Muchelule are Carolyne Kamende Daudi, Linda Gakii Kiome, Mathew Njaramba Nyabena and Col (rtd) Saeed Khamis Saeed.

Kibet Kirui Emmanuel and Irene Tunta Nchoe will serve as the tribunal’s Joint Secretaries while Peter Munge Murage will be Lead Counsel assisted by Zamzam Abdi Abib.

They were sworn-in by Chief Justice Martha Koome at the Supreme Court building on Friday afternoon.

Tribunal members were appointed after the National Assembly pursuant to Article 251 of the Constitution transmitted to the President a petition seeking the removal of four troubled IEBC commissioners.

The four are Vice Chairperson Juliana Whonge Cherera and Commissioners Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit and Justus Abonyo Nyang'aya.

Christened the “Cherera 4”, the petitioners accuse them of incompetency, gross misconduct, and violation of the constitution after they disowned the presidential results during the August 9 polls moments before they were announced over claims they are “opaque.”

The commissioners who snubbed the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee that considered the petition will now have a do or die opportunity to fend off accusations levelled against them.

“The mandate of the tribunal shall be to consider the petition for the removal of (1) Juliana Whonge Cherera, (2) Francis Mathenge Wanderi, (3) Irene Cherop Masit and (4) Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya from office as members of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and to inquire into the allegations therein,” said President Ruto in a gazette notice.  

“In the discharge of its functions, the tribunal shall — (a) Prepare and submit a report and its recommendations thereon expeditiously; and (b) exercise all the powers conferred upon it by law for the proper execution of its mandate,” added the Head of State.

Recommended Articles

Radio Services