Seven candidates to face off in Bungoma senate by-election

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has gazetted the names of seven candidates cleared to contest the Bungoma Senate by-election slated for December 8.

The seat fell vacant after Moses Wetangula was elected Speaker of the National Assembly on September 8, 2022.

Notable politicians given the nod are former Bumula MP Mwambu Mabonga (UDA) and Wetangula’s aide Wafula Wakoli who will fly the Ford Kenya ticket.

The seat has also attracted three independent candidates Enoc Makokha, Julius Masinde and Raidon Wekesa Munoko.

Others are Elias Barasa of People’s Empowerment Party and Fredrick Busolo (Vibrant Democracy Party).

Recommended Articles

Radio Services