Karan Patel won the Equator Rally in Voi.

Karan Patel navigated by Tauseef Khan won the Africa Rally Championship, Equator rally held in Voi, Taita Taveta County.

Karan driving a Ford Fiesta dominated the morning loop to ascend to unassailable lead in a field that included 15 drivers.

He posted the quickest time of 2 hours 20 minutes beating Nasser Yasin who finished second in a time of 2 hours 25 minutes. 

Jasmeet Chana navigated by Ravinder Chana was third.

Jeremiah Wahome,Hamza Anwar, Mc Rae Kimanthi, Aakif Virani and Jas Magat were forced to retire due to mechanical problems. 

Karan’s win continues his winning exploits from last year as he won a total of 10 events in Kenya and across the continent and was crowned the 2022 Kenya National Rally Champion.

Focus now shifts to Pearl of Africa Rally which is scheduled to be held between 5th and 7th May in  Uganda. 

Kenya has won the Africa Rally Championship title seven times between 1981 and 2022. 

Shekhar Mehta was the first-ever winner in 1981, while the last Kenyan to win the title was Carl Tundo in 2021. 

Other Kenyan winners include three times champion Manvir Singh Baryan, Kisumu’s Jassi Chathe and Don Smith


Recommended Articles

Radio Services