IEBC Commissioner Francis Wanderi resigns

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioner Francis Wanderi has resigned, days after being suspended from office by President William Ruto. 

The IEBC commissioner is the third out of the four besieged commissioners to quit.

The commissioners were set to face a tribunal on their conduct following a parliamentary vote and the formation of a Justice Aggrey Muchelule-led team.

The four are Vice Chairperson Juliana Whonge Cherera and Commissioners Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit and Justus Abonyo Nyang'aya.

President William Ruto appointed a nine member tribunal to probe the conduct of the four suspended IEBC commissioners.

And on Friday afternoon, the nine were sworn-in by Chief Justice Martha Koome at the Supreme Court buildings.

The members of the tribunal led by Court of Appeal Judge Aggrey Otysula Muchelule are Carolyne Kamende Daudi, Linda Gakii Kiome, Mathew Njaramba Nyabena and Col (rtd) Saeed Khamis Saeed.

Kibet Kirui Emmanuel and Irene Tunta Nchoe will serve as the tribunal’s Joint Secretaries while Peter Munge Murage will be Lead Counsel assisted by Zamzam Abdi Abib.

The tribunal members were appointed after the National Assembly pursuant to Article 251 of the Constitution transmitted to the President a petition seeking the removal of the four.

Commissioner Justus Nyang’aya was the first to call it quits on Friday followed by Juliana Cherera who resigned Monday.

Christened the “Cherera 4”, the petitioners accuse them of incompetency, gross misconduct, and violation of the constitution after they disowned the presidential results during the August 9 polls moments before they were announced over claims they are “opaque.”

The commissioners snubbed the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee that considered the petition.

Also read

Recommended Articles

Radio Services