Photo by Suad Kamardeen on Unsplash

The Queen Mary Wasafiri New Writing Prize has opened submissions for its 2023 writing cohorts. Submissions are open until June 30.

The prize supports writers who have not published book-length works, with no limits on age, gender, nationality, or background. The winners of each category will receive a £1,000, approximately KShs.154,367 cash prize and publication in Wasafiri magazine. Additionally, all winners and shortlistees will be published and offered career development support through prize partners The Literary Consultancy and The Good Literary Agency.

The prize, this year, will be chaired by literary leading light Diana Evans. Diana will be joined by a panel of multi-award-winning poets and author including Leila Aboulela (Fiction), Caleb Femi (Poetry), and Aanchal Malhotra (Life Writing).    

Speaking about the prize and Wasafiri Leila Aboulela said, “Wasafiri has always been ahead of its time in recognising the power of literature to capture global movements and interconnections. It will be exciting to read talented entries from all over the world and find out what is really going on behind the media’s attention-grabbing headlines!”.

Further details on criteria and application are on the Wasafiri website. 

Recommended Articles


Radio Services